2009 – Minor County Champions

2009 – Minor County Champions

2009 County Minor Final
Dungiven 2-14 
Kilrea 1-7

In a year that seen our Seniors suffer a 1pt defeat in the Senior County Final, our minor team brought the club its eighth county minor championship, defeating Kilrea in the final at Celtic Park. In the semi-final, they defeated Ballinderry who were seen to be their main threat.  

As county champions at U-16 level two years previously, Dungiven came into this final as favourites and certainly justified this tag. Playing against the strong wind they essentially had the game wrapped up at the interval leading by 2-5 to 0-2. Their first half goals came from Stephen Kerlin on six minutes and Sean O’Neill ten minutes later.

On the resumption, St Canice’s were first out of the blocks, with two points from Martin Burke to extend their lead to eleven points. In fairness to Pearse’s, they did play better in the second half but even with their second half goal, could get no closer than eight points. Dungiven had the final say with two points, one a magnificent, long-range point from mid-fielder, Sean Murray.

Dungiven Captain – Kevin Johnston

This was a very impressive performance from the Dungiven lads in all sectors of the field and they were well worth their ten points victory. After the game, Dungiven captain, Kevin Johnston accepted the cup on behalf of his young, overjoyed team mates.

Dungiven team: Kevin Farren, Kevin O’Connor, Ciaran Farren, Marty McCloskey, Kevin Johnston (capt), Paddy Kelly, Anthony Cassidy, Sean O’Kane, Sean Murray (0-4), Martin Burke (0-3), Stephen Kerlin (1-1), Donal McGilligan (0-2), Seamus Kealey (0-1), Sean O’Neill (1-1), Turlough Hendry (0-2). Sub used: Jason Craig. Managers: Eddie Kealey, Peter McCloskey, Liam McCloskey and Proinnsias Brolly.

Ulster Club Minor Championship 2009

Dungiven Team & Management before Ulster 1st Round

In the Ulster Club Championship 1st Round, Dungiven comprehensively defeated Belcoo, the Fermanagh champions by 0-17 to 0-6. Although dominant for most of the first half, their lead of 0-6 to 0-3 at half time didn’t reflect this. In the second period, they played with greater composure outscoring their opponents by 0-11 to 0-3. Dungiven scores: Sean Murray (0-4), Sean O’Neill (0-3), Marty Burke (0-3), Donal McGilligan (0-3), Seamus Kealey (0-3) and Jason Craig (0-1).  

Dungiven Team before Ulster Semi Final
Back Row L to R: Darragh Mullan, Sean McNicholl, Glenn McNicholl, Jason Craig, Kelvin White, Kevin Beatty, Marty McCloskey, Barry McReynolds, Kevin O’Connor, Sean Owens, Seamus Kealey, Conor Murphy, Ciaran O’Kane, Marty Burke, Sean O’Kane
Front Row L to R: Donal McGilligan, Kevin Farren, Sean Murray, Turlough Hendry, Kevin Johnston, Sean O’Neill, Anthony Cassidy, Stephen Kerlin, Ciaran Farren, Paddy Kelly, Shay McGlinchey

In the semi-final, Dungiven lost to Omagh, St Enda’s by 2-5 to 2-8, the eventual winners of the competition. Hoping to emulate the achievements of the minor team of 1990, their dream ended on a very cold New Year’s Day, 2010.

Over the hour Dungiven enjoyed majority possession but poor finishing proved their downfall, hitting eleven wides to St Enda’s three. They also spurned three excellent goal-scoring opportunities. Turlough Hendry, was in fact, the only Dungiven player to score a point from open play and this ultimately cost them in the end.

At half time, they trailed by 2-3 to 1-2, with their goal coming in 90 seconds from Sean O’Neill who also bagged their second midway through the second half. The second goal narrowed Omagh’s lead to two points, but St Canice’s just couldn’t get in that vital strike and time eventually ran out for the Derry champions.

Dungiven team: Kevin Farren, Anthony Cassidy, Ciaran Farren, Kevin O’Connor, Kevin Johnston (capt), Paddy Kelly, Martin McCloskey, Sean O’Kane, Sean Murray (0-3), Martin Burke (0-1), Donal McGilligan, Kelvin White, Seamus Kealey, Sean O’Neill (2-0), Turlough Hendry (0-1). Subs used: Stephen Kerlin and Jason Craig.

Carlin/Duffy Cup 2009

2009 Carlin/Duffy Cup Winners – St Canice’s GAC Dungiven

This minor team also won the Carlin/Duffy Cup in 2009, defeating St Patrick’s by 1-13 to 2-8 at Claudy. St Patrick’s was an amalgamation of Drumsurn and Drum so it was very much a parish affair. Stephen Kerlin was top scorer for Dungiven with an impressive 1-8 to his name.

2009 Carlin/Duffy Final

Read more about our club’s illustrious history in our Book ‘Dungiven in Black and White‘ available online now @  https://www.klubfunder.com/Clubs/St_Canice_GAC_Dungiven/ShopItems

Many thanks to the Editorial Committee of Aidan Hegarty, Colm McGuigan, Martin Jeffrey and Sean Owens who delivered this fantastic publication of St Canice’s GAC history, and to our local photographers Danny O’Kane and Mary K Burke for providing the majority of the images.

In response to Covid-19 outbreak we are ceasing all sales of brown envelope lotto tickets IMMEDIATELY. 
Until it is safe to do so lotto entry will be via online sales only, following the 3 STEPS BELOW

  1. Visit www.klubfunder.com/Clubs/St_Canice_GAC_Dungiven/lotto
  2. Choose Numbers, Press Play Now, & Complete Contact Details 
    • Play for minimum of 5 weeks or 5 Lines
  3. Pay via PayPal

Jackpot Fri 3rd April – £3800
Play NOW